(843) 345-6074

Entertainment, Shopping & Restaurants

The four million+ tourists that visit the Charleston area each year come for several reasons.  The friendly people, ambiance of our historical city, beautiful scenery, beaches, spectator sports, shopping, amenities, world-class restaurants, museums…are just a few reasons why the Lowcountry area is so very popular.

The large tourist volume helps sustain such amazing recreational and cultural amenities which aren’t found in cities with similar populations.  From the Gibbes Museum of Art to the world-class symphony orchestra to the college sports to the historical homes tours…there is always something to do in Charleston!

And, when you live here, you’ll be able to enjoy and take advantage all that Charleston offers year-round….

Almost every weekend there is a different activity or event taking place in Charleston. However, Daniel Island is a self-contained community where you don’t have to leave the island if you don’t want to–there is a grocery store, unique shops, 23-miles of walking, jogging and biking paths, restaurants, two golf courses, two professional sports facilities, day spas, and year-round events.

But if you want to explore other options and areas, I’ve listed some of my favorite events as well as lists of restaurants and shopping venues in and around Daniel Island:

DANIEL ISLAND: ANNUAL EVENTS (there are numerous other events but these are a few of my favorite events):

October:  Park Day (food, live entertainment, & gardening activities for the whole family) http://www.danielislandparkday.com/

October:  Komen Race for the Cure (5K race) www.komenlowcountry.org

December:  Holiday Festival & Tree Lighting Ceremony  www.danielislandholidayfestival.com

June:  Kids Triathlon

July:  4th of July Parade (decorate your bikes, wagons & carts and watch the fireworks display)

August:  Hootie & the Blowfish Musical Concert or as many know them now Darius Ruckers band (proceeds go to schools in need)

CHARLESTON:  FESTIVALS & YEARLY EVENTS
Spoleto Festival http://www.spoletousa.org/
Piccolo Spoleto Festival www.piccolospoleto.com
Annual House and Garden Candlelight Tour  www.preservationsociety.org
Cooper River Bridge Run  www.bridgerun.com
Flowertown Festival http://www.summervilleymca.org/flowertown/
MOJA Festival  http://www.mojafestival.com/
Southeastern Wildlife Exposition http://www.sewe.com

GENERAL ENTERTAINMENT
South Carolina Aquarium http://www.scaquarium.org/
Upcoming Charleston Events  http://www.charlestoncvb.com/visitors/events.htm

MUSEUMS
Charleston Museum http://www.charlestonmuseum.org/topic.asp?id=1
Gibbes Museum http://www.gibbesmuseum.org/
Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum http://www.patriotspoint.org

PERFORMING ARTS
Charleston Symphony Orchestra www.charlestonsymphony.com
Charleston Ballet Theater www.charlestonballet.com
Charleston Stage http://www.charlestonstage.com/
Footlight Players http://www.footlightplayers.net/

PROFESSIONAL SPORTS
Family Circle Cup Women’s Pro Tennis (in Daniel Island!) http://www.familycirclecup.com/

Charleston Battery Soccer (in Daniel Island!) http://www.charlestonbattery.com/welcome.asp
Charleston Riverdogs Baseball (Minor League) http://www.riverdogs.com/
SC Stingrays Hockey http://www.stingrayshockey.com

COLLEGE SPORTS
The Citadel  http://www.citadelsports.com/
College of Charleston  http://www.cofcsports.com/
Charleston Southern University  http://csusports.athleticsite.com/

SHOPPING CENTERS/MALLS

Centrally located in Daniel Island is the “downtown” business district that features the grocery store (Publix), several banks, dry cleaners, convenience store, doctors offices, salons, day spas (http://www.lparadise.com/) and unique boutique shops including:

-Doodlebugs:  Children’s clothing store (885A Island Park Drive;843-216-3180)

-White:  Bridal wear and jewelry & accessories (259 Seven Farms Drive; 843-471-2975)

-A Floral Affair:  Florist  http://www.afloralaffaironline.com/

Here is a list of shopping malls and centers which reside outside of Daniel Island:
Citadel Mall www.citadelmall.net
Mount Pleasant Towne Centre http://www.mtpleasanttownecentre.com/
Northwoods Mall http://www.shopnorthwoodsmall.com/shop/northwoods.nsf/index
Best of Charleston: Favorite Shops of Locals (click on Shops & Wares) http://www.bestofcharleston.net/
Bookstores http://www.insiderpages.com/s/SC/Charleston/BookStores

RESTAURANTS

Daniel Island

Downtown Charleston

Mount Pleasant

 

Isle of Palms

 

Sullivan’s Island

 

Also, please visit:  http://www.bestofcharleston.net and click on “Eating” to see the favorite restaurants of the locals.

Below you can watch some videos I did that highlight, shopping, food, and lifestyle in the greater Charleston Area

 

 

css.php